Rob Bell Racing on Instagram


A Great Start for the New Boys

20th April 2008

The CR Scuderia team got the 2008 FIA GT Championship season off to a flying start at Silverstone this weekend, taking second and fifth places in a race run in difficult weather conditions. The new team is delighted to take such a top result, along with yesterday’s pole position, in its first international race.

“You have to remember this is a new team,” said Rob Bell, who started the race in Ferrari no.56. “It’s a great achievement to get a podium finish the first time out. A few things happened that we need to learn from; our tyre choice at the start wasn’t quite right, but we will learn and grow as a team. We’re very pleased to come away with second place as the changeable conditions dealt out by Silverstone in April are very tricky. This result is all down to the guys who have worked hard here.”

Andrew Kirkaldy took over from Rob just before the half way mark and found himself all alone on the track.

“When I joined the race it felt more like a test day as there were no cars anywhere near me for a while,” he said. “I think AF Corse had an advantage over us today as we didn’t make the right tyre choice at the start. We’re here to win but second place is a great start and we can build on that and make improvements before Monza.”

Chris Niarchos started the race in no.55 and fought his way up to ninth after slipping back with a spin at Copse on lap one. After a fine drive by the CRS boss, Tim Mullen went out and finished the job, taking a solid fifth place finish for the team.

“As a team our expectations are very high,” said Chris. “I was slightly disappointed that we didn’t win after taking pole position but when I reflect on what we’ve done as a new team, in tricky conditions, against a competitive field, I am delighted. We go away from Silverstone full of confidence for the season ahead. Sure, we made a few mistakes, but we can correct those and move onwards and upwards. I am very proud of every single member of this team.”


1. Vilander/Bruni – AF Corse
2. Bell/Kirkaldy – CR Scuderia
3. Ruberti/Malucelli – BMS Scuderia Italia
4. Collard Westbrook – Prospeed Competition
5. Niarchos/Mullen – CR Scuderia